Best Wedding Vendor Payment Software 2026: Complete Guide

TL;DR: The right payment setup depends on subscription cost, payment mix, transaction size, and whether the business also needs contracts, contractor payouts, or tax-document workflows. Maroo’s Starter plan includes its CRM and associated core features for free within published plan limits. Business is optional at $50 per month, and a business that passes every eligible processing fee and absorbs no other transaction fee pays only the $600 annual subscription; clients pay the shifted eligible fees.

Why Payment Software Matters for Wedding Businesses

Wedding professionals often collect large retainers and milestone payments. A small difference in processing cost can therefore matter, but a fair comparison also has to include subscription fees, payment method, transaction count, and the operational tools a business would otherwise buy separately.

Before comparing platforms, model the variables that actually affect your business:

  • Your expected annual card and bank-payment volume
  • The number and average size of transactions
  • Whether your business absorbs eligible processing fees or passes them to clients
  • Whether you also need CRM, contracts, invoicing, contractor payments, or tax-document support

Wedding businesses commonly need one connected workflow for:

  1. Collecting from clients through branded invoices, retainers, installments, and reminders
  2. Paying contractors such as second shooters, coordinators, assistants, musicians, and production crews
  3. Requesting W-9 information and preparing year-end contractor reporting
  4. Explaining payment-method choices and any eligible fee pass-through clearly to clients

This guide compares seven established options or planning-side complements using public pricing and product pages checked August 21, 2026. Sprout Studio FlowPay is discussed separately because its official page still labels it as coming soon.

Payment Software Comparison: Published Pricing and Workflow

Platform
Subscription
Published card pricing
Published bank pricing
Contractor payments
Tax workflow
Fee-pass context
Maroo Starter
Free under $5K/month invoicing
3.5%
Client ACH 1.5%
Free B2B ACH within limits
W-9 and 1099 support
Eligible fee passing
Maroo Business
$50/month
3.4%
Client ACH 1.25%
Free B2B ACH with higher limits
W-9 and 1099 support
Eligible fee passing
Maroo Pro
Custom
3.25%
Client ACH 1%
Free B2B ACH with largest limits
W-9 and 1099 support
Eligible fee passing
HoneyBook
$29/$49/$109 monthly, billed yearly
Manual Visa/MC 2.9% + $0.25; card-on-file/Amex/Discover 3.4% + $0.09
ACH 1.5%
Not an integrated contractor payout workflow
Not the payment product focus
No built-in fee pass
Rock Paper Coin
Basic free; Pro $27 annual/$33 monthly; Premium $33 annual/$41 monthly
Pro 2.5%; Premium volume-based
Exact ACH rate not stated
Not an integrated contractor payout workflow
Not the product focus
Flexible fee settings
Dubsado + Stripe
Dubsado $35/$55 monthly or $335/$525 yearly
Stripe 2.9% + $0.30 domestic; manual entry +0.5%
Stripe ACH 0.8%, $5 cap
Separate workflow needed
Separate workflow needed
Depends on processor and rules
Square Free
$0/location; Plus $49; Premium $149
Manual/card-on-file 3.5% + $0.15
ACH 1%, $1 minimum; plan maximums vary
Not a wedding-contractor workflow
Not the product focus
Verify use case and rules
QuickBooks Payments
QuickBooks subscription plus payments pricing
Verify current official pricing
Verify current official pricing
Capabilities vary
Capabilities vary by product/plan
Verify current terms
ThatsTheOne
$61/month
Not a processor
Not a processor
Planner/vendor tracking, not payout
Not a filing platform
Not applicable

Rates and plan terms can change. Stripe publishes 2.9% + $0.30 for domestic cards and 0.8% for ACH Direct Debit with a $5 cap. Sprout Studio’s FlowPay page advertises pricing starting at 2.75% + $0.30 but still labels the product as coming soon, so it is not ranked as a currently available option here.

Example: Cost of a $5,000 Wedding Payment

Platform and method
$5K card example
$5K bank example
Context
Maroo Business
$170
$62.50
Eligible fees may be passed under applicable rules
Maroo Pro
$162.50
$50
Custom subscription not included
HoneyBook
$145.25 manual Visa/MC; $170.09 card-on-file/Amex/Discover
$75
Method-specific published rates
Rock Paper Coin Pro
$125
Exact ACH rate not stated
Professional processing price
Dubsado + Stripe
$145.30
$5
Dubsado subscription separate
Square Free
$175.15
$50
Paid-plan ACH maximums differ
QuickBooks Payments
Verify current official pricing
Verify current official pricing
Excluded from arithmetic

These examples isolate published processing prices for one payment. They do not make every platform equivalent: subscription terms, card-entry method, bank-payment rules, fee-pass eligibility, and workflow scope differ. Confirm the current rate for the exact plan and payment method you will use.

Seven Payment and Planning Options for Wedding Vendors

1. Maroo — Best Fit for Connected Wedding Payment and Contractor Workflows

Best for: Wedding and event businesses that want client payments, a free CRM and associated core features, contracts, invoicing, and contractor workflows in one system
Starting price: Starter is free for businesses invoicing under $5,000 per month; Business is $50 per month; Pro is custom
Website: Maroo pricing

Maroo is built for wedding and event businesses. Its payment workflow connects to a CRM, quotes, contracts, and invoicing. The CRM and associated core Starter features do not require a subscription within the plan’s published limits.

Current client-payment pricing:

Maroo publishes card rates of 3.5% on Starter, 3.4% on Business, and 3.25% on Pro. Published client ACH rates are 1.5%, 1.25%, and 1%, respectively. The current pricing page does not show the retired ACH maximums that appeared in the earlier version of this article.

  • Starter: free subscription under $5,000 per month in invoicing, with 3.5% cards and 1.5% client ACH
  • Business: $50 per month, with 3.4% cards and 1.25% client ACH
  • Pro: custom subscription, with 3.25% cards and 1% client ACH

Business can pass eligible processing fees to clients. If a business passes every eligible processing fee and absorbs no other transaction fee, the optional Business plan costs that business only its $50 monthly subscription, or $600 per year. Clients pay the shifted eligible fees. Passing a fee shifts it to the client; it does not eliminate it.

Contractor-payment and tax-document workflow:

Maroo also supports paying contractors, which makes it relevant to wedding businesses that regularly hire second shooters, assistants, coordinators, or production partners:

  • Free B2B ACH contractor payments within each plan’s published limits
  • Single and bulk contractor-payment workflows
  • A current W-9 request flow for individual or bulk requests
  • Payment records that support year-end contractor reporting
  • 1099 preparation based on the business’s contractor-payment records
  • E-filing and physical mailing options under published plan terms
  • Published 1099 pricing of $5 per form on Starter, $3 per form on Business, and included on Pro

That connected workflow can reduce duplicate entry for businesses that would otherwise manage client collection, contractor payments, and year-end records in separate tools. The value depends on how often the business hires contractors and which plan limits it needs.

Fee pass-through is subject to eligibility, card-network rules, applicable law, and clear client disclosure. Maroo’s published support for eligible fee passing should be evaluated for the business’s specific payment methods and location; it should not be described as making a fee disappear.

Maroo reports serving more than 15,000 businesses and processing more than $450 million in payments. For a smaller business within Starter limits, the CRM and associated core workflow are free; paid Business features are optional rather than required to use the core platform.

Related: Maroo vs. HoneyBook

Planning businesses can also pair Maroo’s business-side payment workflow with planning software for client budgets and vendor schedules. See the related wedding-planner CRM guide for a broader workflow comparison.

2. HoneyBook — Best Fit for Broad Clientflow and Automation

Best for: Businesses that prioritize clientflow, automation, scheduling, proposals, contracts, and payments in one general-purpose platform
Starting price: $29, $49, or $109 per month when billed yearly
Website: HoneyBook pricing

HoneyBook combines lead management, proposals, contracts, invoices, scheduling, and automation. Its three current plans list unlimited clients and projects, with more automation and team capability on higher tiers. See HoneyBook’s official payment-fee guide for method-specific rates.

HoneyBook’s published card price is not one universal percentage. Its guide lists manually entered Visa and Mastercard payments at 2.9% + $0.25, while card-on-file, American Express, and Discover transactions are listed at 3.4% + $0.09. ACH is listed at 1.5%. The exact cost therefore depends on how the client pays.

HoneyBook is primarily a clientflow platform. Businesses that need a connected contractor payout and W-9/1099 workflow should compare that requirement separately rather than infer it from client-payment features.

The right comparison is total workflow cost: annual subscription, the business’s actual mix of payment methods, and the value of HoneyBook’s automation and client experience for that business.

HoneyBook’s published annual-billing snapshot is $29 per month for Starter, $49 for Essentials, and $109 for Premium. Promotions can differ, so use the current checkout price when making a final decision.

3. Square Invoices — Best Fit for In-Person and Commerce-Led Collection

Best for: Businesses that need invoices alongside in-person or broader Square commerce tools
Starting price: Free is $0 per location; Plus is $49 per location per month; Premium is $149 per location per month
Website: Square Invoices pricing

Square Invoices publishes 3.5% + $0.15 for manual or card-on-file invoice payments. Its paid invoice plans add features such as custom invoice templates and milestone-based payment schedules.

Square publishes ACH invoice pricing of 1% with a $1 minimum. The paid Plus and Premium plans show a $10 maximum, while the Free plan does not show that maximum. Model the exact plan rather than applying one cap to every Square invoice.

Square is commerce-led rather than wedding-specific. It can cover invoices and payments, but a business may still need separate tools for wedding CRM, contracts, contractor payouts, or tax-document workflows.

For a vendor that collects both scheduled wedding payments and occasional in-person payments, Square can be evaluated as a complement or alternative based on whether the business prefers one connected wedding workflow or Square’s broader commerce ecosystem.

4. Rock Paper Coin — Best Fit for a Wedding-Specific Client-Payment Workflow

Best for: Wedding businesses that want proposals, contracts, invoices, and payments in an industry-specific product
Starting price: Basic is free; Professional is $27 per month billed annually or $33 monthly; Premium is $33 per month billed annually or $41 monthly
Website: Rock Paper Coin pricing

Rock Paper Coin supports invoices, payments, and 1–2 day payouts. Its published plans separate free invoice/payment use from Professional proposal and contract features and Premium lead-management features.

The pricing page lists 2.5% processing on Professional and volume-based pricing on Premium. Because the official page does not publish one exact ACH percentage for the comparison modeled here, the bank-payment column is left uncalculated rather than guessed.

Rock Paper Coin focuses on the client-facing wedding transaction. Businesses that need an integrated contractor payout and W-9/1099 workflow should evaluate that requirement separately.

The free Basic plan can suit a business that needs invoices and payments without proposals or contracts. Professional adds those client-workflow features, while Premium adds lead management and inquiry forms.

Published annual-billing equivalents are $27 per month for Professional and $33 per month for Premium. Month-to-month prices are $33 and $41, respectively.

5. Dubsado with Stripe — Best Fit for Automation-Centered Workflows

Best for: Businesses already using Dubsado forms, portals, scheduling, and automation
Starting price: Dubsado Starter is $35 per month or $335 per year; Premier is $55 per month or $525 per year. Processing is separate.
Processor reference: Stripe pricing

When Dubsado payments route through Stripe, Stripe’s public standard price is 2.9% + $0.30 for domestic cards. Manually entered cards add 0.5%. Stripe publishes ACH Direct Debit at 0.8% with a $5 cap.

Any fee pass-through depends on the processor, payment method, card-network rules, applicable law, and client disclosure. Passing an eligible fee shifts who pays it; it does not remove the fee from the transaction.

Dubsado offers a broad client-workflow layer, while Stripe supplies processing. Businesses that also need contractor payouts and W-9/1099 support should include a separate workflow or service in the comparison.

The Dubsado subscription is separate from processing. Starter is $335 per year when billed annually, and Premier is $525 per year when billed annually.

6. QuickBooks Payments — Best Fit for Accounting-Led Workflows

Best for: Businesses that want payment collection close to their QuickBooks accounting records
Starting price: QuickBooks subscription plus the business’s current payment rates
Website: QuickBooks Payments pricing

QuickBooks Payments is the payment layer inside the QuickBooks ecosystem. For a business already using QuickBooks Online, that proximity can simplify payment-to-accounting reconciliation.

QuickBooks payment pricing and eligible rate offers can vary. Because the official page was not reliably accessible to the automated verifier during this review, exact QuickBooks processing figures are excluded from the cost tables. Verify the current official page and the rate shown in the business’s account before deciding.

Wedding businesses can also keep a client-facing platform and sync accounting separately. Maroo publishes a direct QuickBooks Online integration for that division of work.

7. ThatsTheOne — Planning-Side Budget and Vendor-Payment Tracking

Best for: Wedding planners who need client budgets, vendor payment schedules, and planning-side visibility rather than payment processing
Starting price: $61/month
Website: ThatsTheOne wedding features

ThatsTheOne is not a payment processor. It belongs in this guide as a planning-side complement because it tracks budgets and vendor-payment schedules rather than collecting a planner’s business invoices.

Its planning workflow can help a planner compare a client’s budget with actual spend and monitor vendor deposits, balances, and due dates across an event.

A potential two-tool setup is Maroo for the wedding business’s client payments and contractor payouts, with TTO for the event’s planning-side budget and vendor-payment schedule. Whether that is preferable to one platform depends on the planner’s workflow.

TTO’s payment tracking answers planning questions such as which vendor deposits are due and how current spend compares with the client budget. Those are distinct from accounting, invoicing, and payment-processing tasks.

Contractor Payments and 1099 Workflow

This section is relevant to wedding businesses that hire independent contractors. The correct reporting treatment depends on the worker relationship, payment method, and current tax rules, so businesses should use current IRS guidance or professional advice rather than rely on a software comparison as tax advice.

The IRS explains forms and associated taxes for independent contractors in its current independent-contractor guidance. Thresholds, exceptions, deadlines, and penalties can change, and a business should confirm which forms apply to its facts.

Most client-payment products in this comparison do not present a connected wedding-contractor payout plus W-9/1099 workflow on their public pricing pages. QuickBooks tax capabilities vary by product and plan, so they should be confirmed directly rather than treated as part of standalone payment processing.

Maroo’s current contractor workflow includes individual and bulk W-9 requests, payment tracking, 1099 preparation, e-filing, and mailing under its published plan terms. Published 1099 pricing is $5 per form on Starter, $3 per form on Business, and included on Pro.

The operational benefit is having contractor-payment records and tax-document requests in the same workflow. The financial value depends on contractor count, plan limits, and what the business would otherwise pay or do manually.

Annual Cost Model: One Illustrative Payment Mix

Illustrative scenario: $100,000 in annual revenue; $60,000 across 10 card payments and $40,000 across 10 bank payments. Figures use the published prices described above, annual-billing subscriptions where stated, and no promotions. This is a comparison example, not a quote.

Platform and assumption
Processing absorbed by business
Subscription
Business total
Maroo Business; business absorbs modeled fees
$2,540
$600
$3,140
Maroo Business; every eligible modeled fee passed
$0
$600
$600; clients pay shifted $2,540
HoneyBook Starter; manual Visa/MC model
$2,342.50
$348 annually
$2,690.50
Dubsado Starter + Stripe
$1,793
$335 annually
$2,128
Square Free
$2,501.50
$0
$2,501.50
Rock Paper Coin Professional; card portion only
$1,500 card-only; bank excluded
$324 annually
$1,824 plus bank fees

The model is intentionally transparent rather than a universal ranking. HoneyBook uses the manually entered Visa/Mastercard rate for the card example; a different card-entry method changes the result. Rock Paper Coin’s bank fees and QuickBooks rates are excluded where the current official pages did not provide a dependable exact figure for this calculation.

How to Choose the Right Payment Solution

Choose Maroo when: A connected wedding-industry CRM, contracts, invoices, client payments, contractor payouts, and W-9/1099 support matter. Starter’s CRM and associated core features are free within published limits; Business is an optional $50 monthly plan.

Choose HoneyBook when: Its clientflow, automation, scheduling, and broad business workflow fit the team, after modeling the actual subscription and method-specific payment rates.

Choose Square when: In-person collection and the broader Square commerce ecosystem matter more than a wedding-specific contractor or tax-document workflow.

Choose Rock Paper Coin when: An industry-specific client-payment workflow, free invoice/payment entry point, and its proposal/contract plan structure fit the business.

Choose Dubsado with Stripe when: Dubsado’s automation system is the preferred client workflow and the business is comfortable treating payment processing and contractor-tax needs as separate layers.

Use ThatsTheOne alongside a payment platform when: A planner needs planning-side budgets and vendor-payment schedules at $61/month in addition to the business-side collection workflow.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What is the lowest-cost way to accept wedding payments?
The answer depends on subscription cost, payment method, transaction size, transaction count, and who absorbs eligible fees. Use your own annual card/bank mix and current plan terms; do not choose from one advertised percentage alone. FlowPay is excluded from the active ranking while its official page says coming soon.

Q: Can a business pass eligible processing fees to clients?
Maroo supports passing eligible processing fees under applicable rules. If a business on Business passes every eligible processing fee and absorbs no other transaction fee, its business-side cost is the $50 monthly subscription, or $600 per year; clients pay the shifted eligible fees. Passing a fee shifts it to the client and does not eliminate it. Eligibility, disclosure, card-network rules, and applicable law still matter.

Q: How do contractor payments work in Maroo?
Maroo supports individual and bulk B2B ACH contractor payments within plan limits. Contractors can complete a secure W-9 request flow, and the business can use payment records for 1099 preparation, e-filing, and mailing under current plan terms.

Q: Is Maroo’s free tier functional?
Yes. Starter is free for businesses invoicing under $5,000 per month. Its CRM and associated core features—including lead capture, quotes, contracts, invoicing, payment collection, and limited contractor workflows—do not require a subscription within the published plan limits. Processing and per-use charges can still apply.

Q: How does Maroo compare with using Stripe directly?
Stripe is a payment processor. Maroo adds a wedding-industry CRM, quotes, contracts, invoicing, payment schedules, contractor payouts, and W-9/1099 workflow around payment collection. A business that only needs processing may prefer a processor; a business that values the connected operating workflow should compare total subscription, processing, and administration costs.

Team Maroo
May 8, 2026
14 min read
Latest posts

Business blog

Interviews, tips, guides, industry best practices, and news.
Lifehacks
12 min read
Best CRM for Wedding & Event Planners in 2026 (Tested & Compared)
The 7 best CRMs for wedding and event planners in 2026, tested and compared. See which tools handle payments, contracts, and subcontractors best.
Read post
Lifehacks
11 min read
HoneyBook Alternatives for Event Planners (2026): 7 Lower-Fee Options
The 7 best HoneyBook alternatives for event planners in 2026. Compare fees, pricing, and features — including tools with zero processing fees.
Read post
Lifehacks
10 min read
Switching From HoneyBook to Maroo: A Step-by-Step Guide for Planners
Step-by-step migration guide for wedding planners leaving HoneyBook. Export checklist, template rebuild, timing tips, and honest cost comparison with Maroo.
Read post